About Us
Public Library
DLS Activities
Library Services
Library Activities

Govt. Libraries

Aided Libraries

Govt. Sponsored Libraries

Establishment of Public Libraries in West Bengal and introduction of Public Libraries Act , 1979 is the result of library movement led by pioneers in the field of library service , the Bengal Library Association and other voluntary and non Government Organisations over a span of one hundred and fifty years.

West Bengal Public Libraries Act was enacted in 1979. It was amended in 1982, 1985, 1993, 1994, 1998 and 2003. Several Rules have been framed under the Act for proper management of the Public Library System of the State.

The State Central Library

Howrah District Library

With the introduction of West Bengal Public Libraries Act in 1979, a separate Directorate of Library Services was created under the Mass Education Extension Department with a Minister in charge of Library Services. Twelve Government Public Libraries, 2457 Government Sponsored Public Libraries and a State Central Library at the apex are the components of Public Library System of West Bengal. There are also seven State Government aided Libraries.

Minister in Charge of Library Services is in overall charge of the Public Library Services in the State. The Public Library Service is under the Mass Education Extension Department which is headed by the Secretary/Principal Secretary of the Department, assisted by the Joint Secretary and the Deputy Secretary in Charge of the Library Wing of the Department. On the functional side is the Director of Library Services who is in charge of the Directorate of Library Services.. He is assisted by the Deputy Director of Library Services and Assistant Director of Library Services at the Directorate and the District Library Officers at the District Level.

The State Central Library